The CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund Toast Their Finalists

by Eddie Roche

They packed ’em in last night at a party to celebrate the 2016 CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund (CVFF) Design Challenge at the yet to be opened Augustine restaurant at 8 Beekman Street. The latest Keith McNally post (located in the swanky The Beekman Hotel) opens doors next month, but guests Ashley Graham, Carolina Herrera, Suki Waterhouse, Hari Nef, Ken Downing, Eva Chen, Jenna Lyons, Taylor Hill, Daphne Groeneveld with beau Justin Hopwood, Martha Hunt, Kelly Rohrbach, Taylor Hill, Athena Calderone, Marcus Wainwright and David Neville, Steven Kolb, Anna Wintour, and the appropriately named rapper Desiigner got a first look at the eagerly anticipated space. (And it is going to be theee hot spot soon. Last night it was literally boiling.)

This year’s finalists are Adam Selman, Beckett Fogg and Piotrek Panszczyk of Area, Laura Vassar and Kris Brock; Ji Oh; Marjan and Maryam Malakpour of Newbark; Chris Stamp of Stampd; Chloe Gosselin; Morgan Curtis of Morgan Lane; Joshua Cooper and Laurence Chandler of Rochambeau; and Stirling Barrett of Krewe du Opti. Last night’s bash was held minutes after this year’s group presented the judging panel with their design challenge. Underwritten by Intel, the 10 finalists were asked to identify a memory that is meaningful to them and design an outfit that represents that moment. They were tasked to incorporate Intel® Curie™ technology, a tiny chip inspired by Intel conversations with the CFDA for this design.

Next up for the gang is a trip to Los Angeles (with TV cameras coming along) to present a few looks at a fashion show at the Chateau Marmont underwritten by Kate Spade New York. The winner of the CFDA/Vogue Fashion Fund receives a monetary prize of $400,000 and the two-runner ups take home $150,000. The names will be announced at a gala dinner in New York on November 7th.

You may also like

Leave a Comment