Alexander Wang Features His ‘Squad’ in Spring/Summer ’16 Instagram Campaign

by Paige Reddinger

Alexander Wang decided to let his Spring/Summer 2016 campaign unfold “organically” on social media by handing the reins over to his “Wang Squad.” Photographer Steven Klein captured images of 21 of Wang’s friends like Anna Ewers, Binx Walton, Travis Scott, Lexi Boling, Hanne Gaby Odiele, and Kaia Gerber, to name a few. The campaign was shot in various scenes around Manhattan and Brooklyn that feature the subjects in everyday environments like the bodega or gas station. The cast will be the first to unveil the campaign throughout March on their own Instagram accounts, and the brand will repost and reveal select images on its own social media outlets. The full campaign can be seen on the @WangSquad Instagram account. “This campaign is a visual narrative, and it’s about converging story lines seen from multiple perspectives,” said Wang. “We felt it made sense for the talent to tell their own story first; they start the dialog, which we as a brand then continue. The concept is to create a conversation that is long-lasting, and that is an unfolding visual narrative with many angles and a lot new imagery being released over time.”

Cast:

Alice Glass / @_alice_glass

Alice Metza / @6bubbles6erotica6

Aluna Francis / @alunageorge

Anna Ewers / @annaewers

Baauer / @baauer

Binx Walton / @binxwalton

CL / @chaelincl

Diego Villarreal / @ddiegovillarreal

Hanne Gaby Odiele / @hannegabysees

ILoveMakonnen / @ilovemakonen

Isabella Emmack / @isabellaemmack

John Swiatek / @yawnjohn

Kaia Gerber / @kaiagerber

Lexi Boling / @lexiboling

Lucien Smith / @luicenmracsitmh

Molly Bair / @molllsbair

Peyton Knight / @peyton.knight

Stella Lucia / @stellaluciadeopito

Travis Scott / @travisscott

Vic Mensa / @vicmensa

Issa Lish / @issalien

Credits:

Photographer: Steven Klein

Creative Director: Pascal Dangin, KiDS Creative

Stylist: Karl Templer

Music: Baauer

Set Design: Stefan Beckman

Hair: Anthony Turner; Jimmy Paul

Make-up: Polly Osmond

Manicurist: Gina Edwards

Casting: Anita Bitton

Production: KiDS Creative

You may also like

Leave a Comment

X