Forget the Palme D’Or, Tribeca Winners Get Original Art From Koons and More

by Aria Darcella
Tribeca Film Festival

Some film fests give out fancy statues for their award-winning films, but the Tribeca Film Festival does something a lot more interesting — since its inception in 2002, TFF has been awarding films in its competition program with works of contemporary art from some pretty major artists.

This year is no different. In addition to competing for cash prizes totaling $165,000, Tribeca’s Artists Awards program will award 10 pieces donated by 10 different artists to various filmmakers. This year’s roster of acrtists includes Jane Dickson, Shepard Fairey, Stephen Hannock, JR, Eddie Kang, Jeff Koons, Walter Robinson, Amy Sillman, Swoon, and Fred Tomaselli.

For the past 14 years, Chanel has been the official sponsor of the Artists Awards and has hosted a glamorous dinner in honor of the participating artists. This year’s dinner, which took place last night at Balthazar, included guests from the worlds of film and fashion like Diane Kruger, Katie Holmes, Cara Delevingne, Chloë Sevigny, Angela Bassett, Alexander Skarsgård, Debra Messing, Q-Tip, Kenzo Takada, and Lauren Hutton. TFF founder Robert De Niro was there as well.

For the past seven years Chanel has also specifically sponsored the Nora Ephron Award, giving $25,000 to a female filmmaker who “embodies the spirit and boldness of the late filmmaker.” The 10 pieces from the Artists Awards program are currently on display at the Tribeca Festival Hub at Spring Studios. They will be presented to the award-winning filmmakers during a ceremony on May 2. Below is a list of the prize categories and each corresponding art piece.

Award: Nora Ephron Award
Prize: Swoon, Alison the Lacemaker, 2018.

Award: Best New Narrative Director
Prize: Walter Robinson, Love Trap, 2019.

Award: Founders Award for Best Narrative Feature
Prize: Fred Tomaselli, Bloom, 2011.

Award: Best Narrative Short Winner
Prize: Amy Sillman, Amy Sillman, 2018.

Award: Best Documentary Short Winner
Prize: JR, 28 Millimeters, Portrait of a Generation, 2015.

Award: Albert Maysles New Documentary Director Award
Prize: Stephen Hannock, Indigo Rocket Over Tribeca, 2018.

Award: Best International Narrative Feature Winner
Prize: Eddie Kang, Easter, 2018.

Award: Best Documentary Feature
Prize: Shepard Fairey, Oil Lotus Woman, 2018.

Award: Best Animated Short Winner
Prize: Jeff Koons, Balloon Dog (Magenta), 2015.

Award: Best Student Short
Prize: Jane Dickson, Chrysler Building, 2018.

Subscribe to our newsletter and follow us on Facebook and Instagram to stay up to date on all the latest fashion news and juicy industry gossip.

You may also like

Leave a Comment