CFDA Fashion Awards 2022: KHAITE’s Epic Win, Cher In The House, Law Roach’s Prediction, and More!

by Eddie Roche

By now, you’ve probably heard the CFDA Fashion Awards were held last night at Cipriani South Street—thanks Instagram! A tangerine-haired and hilarious Natasha Lyonne served as the evening’s host and was joined by designers Joseph Altuzarra, Gabriela Hearst, Aurora James, and Proenza Schouler’s Lazaro Hernandez and Jack McCollough for the evening, which also marked the CFDA’s 60th anniversary.

This year’s winners featured the usual mix of honorees we know about in advance and winners announced on the night who are voted on by the CFDA Awards Guild, which is comprised of CFDA members, leading fashion journalists, stylists, and top retail executives. The biggest award of the night went to a very surprised Catherine Holstein of KHAITE, who took home the American Womenswear Designer of the Year award, presented by Christina Ricci. KHAITE beat out nominees Christopher John Rogers, Gabriela Hearst, LaQuan Smith, and Peter Do.

Trevor Noah was on hand to give the American Menswear Designer of the Year to Emily Adams Bode Aujla of Bode. Joel Kim Booster presented Raul Lopez of LUAR with the American Accessory Designer of the Year. And Elena Velez won the American Emerging Designer award, presented by Keke Palmer.

And then there were the superstars…Cher (surprise!) opened the ceremony by giving stylist Patti Wilson the Media Award in honor of Eugenia Sheppard. Cher was on stage twice throughout the night, as she later came on stage with her goddaughter Jesse Jo Stark to give The Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award to Laurie Lynn Stark and Richard Stark of Chrome Hearts.

Cher, Patti Wilson

One of the most memorable speeches of the night was from stylist Law Roach, who received the inaugural Stylist Award from Kerry Washington. Roach shared that in 2016 Zendaya was invited by Michael Kors to attend the CFDA Awards at Hammerstein Ballroom and he watched the show from the kitchen. “I sat and watched from the kitchen with the waiters who served your food and drinks,” Roach said. “I said to myself that one day I’m going to be on that stage! I’m an example that anything and everything is possible.” Indeed.

Law Roach, Steven Kolb

Other highlights of the evening included Lenny Kravitz receiving the Fashion Icon award, presented by Bradley Cooper, and Martha Stewart giving the inaugural Innovation Award presented by Amazon Fashion to SKIMS, which was accepted by Kim Kardashian, Emma Grede, and Jens Grede. The entire Kardashian/Jenner crew (with the exception of Kourtney) were there to cheer on Kim for her big night.

Lenny Kravitz

The additional wins for the night included Andrew Bolton receiving the The Founder’s Award in honor of Eleanor Lambert from Anna Wintour, Jeffrey Banks receiving the Special Anniversary Award from Stan Herman,  The United Nations receiving the Environmental Sustainability Award from Amber Valletta, and The House of Slay—aka Prabal Gurung, Laura Kim, Phillip Lim, Tina Leung, and Ezra William—receiving the Positive Social Influence Award from Eva Chen. Shannon Abloh also accepted the posthumous Board of Trustee’s Award on behalf of her late husband, Virgil Abloh.

Laura Kim, Ezra William, Tina Leung

See all the looks from the night HERE!

Images: BFA

Subscribe to our newsletter and follow us on Facebook and Instagram to stay up to date on all the latest fashion news and juicy industry gossip.

You may also like

Leave a Comment