All the Winners From the 2019 Tony Awards

by Charles Manning

Last night, the Broadway League and the American Theatre Wing presented the 73rd annual Tony Awards, honoring Broadway’s best at Radio City Music Hall. The event was hosted by James Corden and featured musical performances from all the nominated musicals. “Hadestown” won an impressive eight Tonys, including the big prize of the night, Best Musical. The other big winner of the night was “The Ferryman,” which took home four awards, including Best Play. Check out all the winners below.

Best Musical: “Hadestown”

Best Play: “The Ferryman”

Best Revival of a Musical: “Oklahoma!”

Best Revival of a Play: “The Boys in the Band”

Best Book of a Musical: “Tootsie,” Robert Horn

Best Original Score: “Hadestown,” music and lyrics: Anaïs Mitchell

Best Direction of a Play: Sam Mendes, “The Ferryman”

Best Direction of a Musical: Rachel Chavkin, “Hadestown”

Best Leading Actor in a Play: Bryan Cranston, “Network”

Best Leading Actress in a Play: Elaine May, “The Waverly Gallery”

Best Leading Actor in a Musical: Santino Fontana, “Tootsie”

Best Leading Actress in a Musical: Stephanie J. Block, “The Cher Show”

Best Featured Actor in a Play: Bertie Carvel, “Ink”

Best Featured Actress in a Play: Celia Keenan-Bolger, “To Kill a Mockingbird”

Best Featured Actor in a Musical: André De Shields, “Hadestown”

Best Featured Actress in a Musical: Ali Stroker, “Oklahoma!”

Best Scenic Design of a Play: Rob Howell, “The Ferryman”

Best Scenic Design of a Musical: Rachel Hauck, “Hadestown”

Best Costume Design of a Play: Rob Howell, “The Ferryman”

Best Costume Design of a Musical: Bob Mackie, “The Cher Show”

Best Lighting Design of a Play: Neil Austin, “Ink”

Best Lighting Design of a Musical: Bradley King, “Hadestown”

Best Sound Design of a Play: Fitz Patton, “Choir Boy”

Best Sound Design of a Musical: Nevin Steinberg and Jessica Paz, “Hadestown”

Best Choreography: Sergio Trujillo, “Ain’t Too Proud: The Life and Times of the Temptations”

Best Orchestrations: Michael Chorney and Todd Sickafoose, “Hadestown”

Special Tony Award for Lifetime Achievement in the Theater: Rosemary Harris, Terrence McNally, Harold Wheeler

Isabelle Stevenson Award: Judith Light

Regional Theater Tony Award: TheatreWorks Silicon Valley

Special Tony Award: Marin Mazzie, Jason Michael Webb, Sonny Tilders and Creature Technology Company

Tony Honors for Excellence in the Theater: Broadway Inspirational Voices — Michael McElroy, Founder, Peter Entin, FDNY Engine 54, Ladder 4, Battalion 9, Joseph Blakely Forbes

Subscribe to our newsletter and follow us on Facebook and Instagram to stay up to date on all the latest fashion news and juicy industry gossip.

You may also like

Leave a Comment