Fashion Group International Announces Rising Star Awards Nominees

By  |  0 Comments

(NEW YORK) Fashion Group International has announced its Rising Star Awards finalists. Last year’s nominees included names like Rolando Santana and Giovanna Randall for women’s ready-to-wear and Tim Coppens and Todd Snyder for menswear, to name a few. So, did your most beloved young designers make it to the last round?

This year in the women’s ready-to-wear category are Marissa Webb, Frank Tell, Nary Manivong, Tanya TaylorVengsarkar Budhu of Gavaskar, Julie and Jason Alkire of Haus Alkire, Charles Harbison of Harbison, and Giovanna Randall of Honor. Meanwhile, Kerby Jean-Raymond of Pyer Moss, Ian Velardi, Ernest Sabine of Ernest Alexander, and Matthew Orley, Alex Orley, and Samantha Florence of Orley were named in the menswear category, according to WWD

Retailers in the running to nab an FGI include Rachel Shechtman of Story in New York’s Chelsea nabe, Katie Finnegan and Erica Bell of the free digital shopping tool Hukkster, and fashionista turned cake guru Charlotte Neuville of The Fashion Chef.

Those nominated in the ever-popular accessories category included Neil Blumenthal and David Gilboa of Warby Parker, Edmundo Castillo, Deborah Sawaf of Thalé Blanc, Melanie Lopez of Roman & Sunstone, Michelle Vale, Annette and Phoebe Stephens of Anndra Neen, and Annie Jaroszewicz of Equipt for Play. Lisa Black, Joseph Yushuvayev of Casa Reale,  Margery Hirschey, plus Amaia and Yolanda Torrubia of Torrubia & Torrubia received noms in fine jewelry.

There were plenty of beauty and fragrance honors to go around with recognition in the corporate category going to Eileen Ahasic of Estée Lauder, Jean Michel Karam of IOMA Paris, Ruhi Patil of International Flavors & Fragrances, and Sara Zucker of Nars. As for the entrepreneurs in this category? Brian Wolk and Claude Morais of Ruffian Beauty, Nathan Motylinski of Le Cherche Midi, Tony Perez and Meredith Waga of Belle Fleur, and Kelly Podorsek of Kelly & Jones are up for awards.  

The home interiors award will ulitmately go to Anna KarlinJon Call of Mr Call Designs, or Reinaldo Leandro and Ariel Ashe of Ashe + Leandro.

The luncheon will be held at Cipriani’s 42nd Street on January 28th and will be hosted by gala and awards circuit regular, Simon Doonan (last year’s keynote speaker was designer Ralph Rucci). Lincoln Moore of Saks Fifth Avenue, Amy Astley of Teen Vogue, Steven Stolman of Scalamandré, Brooke Jaffe of Bloomingdale’s, Kara Ross, Hal Rubenstein, Leslie Blodgett, and Stephen Burrows will be presenting the awards. 

The Daily Front Row

Seating you front row, taking you backstage & catapulting you into the world of fashion. Stalk us on twitter @DailyFrontRow, follow us at and always be seated front row.

Sign up for our daily newsletter

Get more Fashion news
in your inbox

Subscribe to our mailing list and get the latest in Fashion straight in your inbox.