The 2017 CFDA Nominees and Honorees Are In! Raf Simons, Monse, Gabriela Hearst, & More

by Kristen Heinzinger

A crowd of fashion industry insiders gathered to hear CFDA chairwoman Diane von Furstenberg reveal this year’s CFDA Fashion Award nominees at Ramscale Studios last night. She described narrowing down the list with fellow CFDA board of director members like any family affair—a lot of yelling and arguing, and the only thing missing was shots of vodka. Von Furstenberg was joined by CFDA president and CEO Steven Kolb, Swarovski team members (which has hosted the awards for 16 years), Anna Wintour (who was later spotted enjoying a late night dinner at The Standard Grill), and many of the runners up. And the nominees are…

Womenswear Designer of the Year Award: Joseph Altuzarra for Altuzarra, Raf Simons for Calvin Klein, Marc Jacobs, Jack McCollough and Lazaro Hernandez for Proenza Schouler, and Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row

Menswear Designer of the Year Award: Raf Simons for Calvin Klein, Robert Geller, Thom Browne, Tim Coppens, and Todd Snyder

Accessory Designer of the Year Award: Stuart Vevers for Coach, Irene Neuwirth, Rachel Mansur and Floriana Gavriel for Mansur Gavriel, Paul Andrew, and Ashley Olsen and Mary-Kate Olsen for The Row

Swarovski Award for Emerging Talent: Laura Vassar Brock and Kristopher Brock for Brock Collection, Gabriela Hearst, Laura Kim and Fernando Garcia for Monse, Virgil Abloh for Off-White, and Sander Lak for Sies Marjan

Along with the nominees, the honorees were announced:

Swarovski Award for Positive Change: Kenneth Cole

Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award: Rick Owens

The Founder’s Award: Pat McGrath

The International Award: Demna Gvasalia for Vetements and Balenciaga

The Board of Directors’ Tribute: Cecile Richards,Gloria Steinem, and Janelle Monae

The Fashion Icon Award: Franca Sozzani

The 2017 CFDA Fashion Awards will be held June 5 at The Hammerstein Ballroom.

Leave a Comment